Tyga’s “Rack City,” Getting Old, and Making it to Germany

1 Jun

I made it to Germany. In one piece. With a baby.

For some reason, all I can think of are the German kids singing, “Ima Ima Huss-a-ler, Ima Ima Hussaler” on the train that got stopped for an hour en route to our destination (i.e. sleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep).

One of my very first experiences during student teaching was having to figure out how to handle a girl singing Tyga’s “Rack City” during class.

Tyga. In the pseudo-flesh.

I was baffled. I had her put on headphones and keep it down. When I went home that afternoon, I googled what I thought was “Rock City” (HA.). I decided that I had to know what I was dealing with.

I was soon even more baffled. The first thought I had: he’s an angry young man. The second: that girl can really move. Then I heard the line, “Got your grandma on my dick” and was utterly confused – then I realized:

You’re getting old!

Kids are kids, wherever you go. Whether rural wanna be gangstas in the UP, rural wannabe gangstas in Southern Germany, or a smalltown white girl from Bark River rapping N.E.R.D’s “Lapdance” in her Pontiac on the way to basketball practice, every kid likes a catchy jam, no matter how dirty (or confusing to the old folk). Or maybe we all have a not-so-secret desire to try and offend, just for shock’s sake.

Alas. Rack City, live on!

Watch the explicit, adult content only video here: http://youtu.be/SCFnewbghps

One Response to “Tyga’s “Rack City,” Getting Old, and Making it to Germany”

  1. PeninsulaDetail June 2, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Rack city chick/rack rack city chick..ten ten twenty and a fifty chick…haha. Great post. Glad you got there okay.

Leave a Reply

