Down with Bipartisan Labeling (or, Use Your Goddamn Brain)

10 Sep

Let’s read some positive news. I had a teacher in high school who once said, “You have those on the far left. You have those on the far right. Somewhere in the middle, the gray area, is the truth.” I re-read this sentiment while reading a editorial on the Missouri law that tried to ban teachers from using social media to connect with their students:

“It’s time that Democrats, Republicans, teachers, charter school supporters, superintendents, urbanites and suburbanites and others who care about educating our next generation take a step back and refocus on lessons in communication from our early school days.

Talk nice. Take turns. Listen. Share. Work together.”

That’s right. Bipartisan labeling and side-taking is absolutely ridiculous. Think about the issues. Think about the ideas. Use your head and make an intelligent decision, free from the chains of political names. And for the love of Pete, stop talking and LISTEN UP.
Next time I pray, it’ll be for compromise.
Also, the title’s a shout out to my good man and a great read, Mr. JD Salinger (check him out HERE).

Must love the rebellion when the spirit calls

Read more about the Missouri Law here: http://www.stltoday.com/news/opinion/columns/the-platform/article_70dc0b06-17af-5a97-ad91-4257bb692b06.html#ixzz1XWSTkeYe

4 Responses to “Down with Bipartisan Labeling (or, Use Your Goddamn Brain)”

  1. Judy Puncochar September 10, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    I loved your call for critical thinking… ethics, logic, collaboration, problem solving, empathy, analysis… all take effort. When my sons were young, I would interrupt any hint of negativity or swearing and urge them to be more articulate and use skills of observation and perspective taking. I was a real pain in the derrière. Thanks for the memories and for stopping by the School of Education yesterday! 🙂

    • Ms. V September 10, 2011 at 3:44 am #

      Judy – I hope the title didn’t offend you! My rebellious spirit still wants to howl out at the wilderness in the same way it once did. I suppose to be taken seriously, as a professional and thoughtful human being, I should omit Holden’s beloved adjective.

  2. Judy Puncochar September 10, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    I loved your post, Jaime! Your title was catchy, funny, and articulate, as always! I laughed aloud. The explicative in the title drew my attention to your message. Your call for critical thinking and collaboration was heartwarming! A decade of educational difference exists between your posts and a middle school child’s expression of dislike without a rationale. I love an ability to express oneself by referencing literature, using analogies, and thinking metaphorically! 🙂 Very nice!

    Attacks on education use repetitive arguments that lack completeness, logic, ethics, and problem solving skills and remind me of my then younger sons’ inability or unwillingness to express themselves.

    I love your use of thinking critically and cogent articulation of issues! 🙂 Judy

    • Ms. V September 10, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      Oh, good. I’m always more than willing to listen to the wisdom of my educators when it comes to professional matters. Inference via the web i somewhat tricky for me – there’s my analog self shining through. 🙂 I’m glad you liked it!

      Harlow and I will be sure to stop by again before the semester is over – maybe she’ll be crawling (and jabbering auf Deutsch) by then!

Leave a Reply

